Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

High CPU usage; can't find the problem.

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 NguyenAntho

NguyenAntho

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:32 PM

Posted 01 July 2014 - 11:47 PM

Hi there. This is my first time posting onto this website. I ran into a problem last night after I restarted my computer, where any game that I start or even slightly intensive program I open, my CPU usage raises from ~14% to ~100% instantly. I have tried this on many programs such as Minecraft, any games on Steam, Firefall, and even some of Malwarebytes when I was scanning if a virus was causing this. None of my anti-virus software detected a virus, so I'm suspicious as to what the problem may be. Here are my computer specs:

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.3GHz
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 
Memory: 8192MB RAM

Request any extra info if needed. Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 cat1092

cat1092

Bleeping Cat

• BC Advisor
  • 6,889 posts
  •  

Posted 02 July 2014 - 12:37 AM

NguyenAntho, Welcome to BC Forums! :)

Lets see what we can find out. Can you post a Speccy shot for us to look over? 

• Go to Piriform's website, and click the big download.png button.