Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Should I buy Intel i3 or i5 based from these needs?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 So_Be

So_Be

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:04 PM

Posted 27 June 2014 - 12:32 PM

Hi everybody!

I’m thinking to buy a new laptop but I’m not sure which one to buy basing from my needs. I’m a university student and I’m planning to use it for the next 4 years or so.

USES:

1.Microsoft Office – Word, Powerpoint etc

2.Emailing

3.Web surfing

4.I sometimes use photoshop but only basic stuff (editing my pictures from light to dark etc)

5.I got a lot of pictures but I usually transfer it to my external HD. I love photography though and I usually transfer it to my computer then check the pictures then transfer it to my external HD. My old computer always freeze whenever I do this.

6.I’m not really looking for a very fast computer but I hate sluggish computer as well.

7.I’m debating if I need a built in DVD driver / CD writer now… 80% of me says I prefer it that way. I got CD’s of Powerpoint, Anti Virus, MS office etc that’s why.

I DON’T:

1. Listen to music with my laptop

2. Watch DVD using my laptop

3. Watch Youtube

4.  Play video games

5. Really care for storage size since I got external HD already

6. Really care for brand name but I'm leaning towards Asus based from my explanation below.