Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is taking technical college courses worth it?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 cmharris90

cmharris90

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:03 AM

Posted 25 June 2014 - 05:29 PM

First off, I'm new to the BC community and am excited to be here!

I was wondering if anyone had any advice as to whether or not it is worth paying for community colleges courses to prep for IT certifications, or do you think I would be fine taking it a cert at a time and studying for the exams independently.

Any and all suggestions welcome

Thanks,

Cameron

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 TsVk!

TsVk!

penguin farmer

• Members
  • 6,230 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:03 AM

Posted 25 June 2014 - 06:23 PM

I've done all my certifications independently. It depends how much money and time you have to spare and what type of learning style you have, as to which route you should take.

Personally I hate classes and feel held back, work full time and don't really have the extra cash to lash out for colleges... You may find you are in the other group.

#3 cmharris90

cmharris90
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  

Posted 25 June 2014 - 06:26 PM