Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Request information please

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nancy9108

Nancy9108

• Members
  • 147 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:37 PM

Posted 21 June 2014 - 09:58 AM

I have been running AVAST for the past 2 years.  They, however, said I have more problems with my computer and charged me $179.99 to get additional assistance.  After about 2 hours they made my computer worse and at the end told me I would receive a refund.  2 months later I am told I will not get a refund, so I have put in a fraud complaint into my credit card.

I am of the mind to stop using AVAST for my  antivirus program and firewall.  Does anyone have a suggestion as to the best software to use for antivirus and firewall.  I previously have used Norton, however, when I did it did not catch the rootkit trojan I obtained last November.

Thank you for any assistance.

Nancy

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 wpgwpg

wpgwpg

• Members
  • 1,149 posts
  •  

Posted 21 June 2014 - 10:15 AM

Depends on your version of Windows & you neglected to say.