Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

WHAT IS THE TOP RATED ANTIVIRUS/FIREWALL PROGRAM?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Nancy9108

Nancy9108

• Members
  • 147 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:23 AM

Posted 19 June 2014 - 07:48 AM

Hi.  I am a computer novice.  In the past I have been infected with a rootkit trojan.  I have been using Avast.  I am not sure that is the best software/firewall program available.  Their technical assistance has been horrible and has caused my computer to have more problems that I started out with.  I have a neighbor that has come over to solve several issues with my computer and I am now up and running ok now.  I have a quadriplegic son on life support and need the advice of computer experts.

WHAT IS THE TOP RATED ANTIVIRUS PROGRAM AND WHAT IS THE TOP FIREWALL PROGRAM?  I AM RUNNING MALWAREBYTES AND MALWAREBYTES ANTI-ROOTKIT UTILITY.  MY NEIGHBOR ALSO INSTALLED SPYBOT AND GLARY UTILITIES.

INSTEAD OF THE AVAST ANTISPYWARE AND FIREWALL DO YOU HAVE ANY RECOMMENDATIONS AS TO A BETTER SOFTWARE PROGRAM?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP.

NANCY

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,267 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:23 AM

Posted 19 June 2014 - 01:43 PM