Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

To understand the principles of data backup

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 seraphin

seraphin

• Members
  • 118 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:57 AM

Posted 05 June 2014 - 07:52 PM

Hi,

I am a newbie to the computer world and to bleepingcomputer.com so I am not sure if my question is posted in the right forum. I have recently backed up my Windows 7 laptop using the Backup and Repair program under Maintenance folder in Win7 (which by the way took like 10 hrs).

Two questions on backing up files -

(a) Since my last backup, some new files were created and some old files were deleted (CCleaned).

Is there a simple way to "back up" the new files ONLY - say, if I re-run the backup & repair program, would it know which files are new and need to be backed up or would it re-back up the whole system (another 10 hrs)?

(B) Is it normal that a backup would take this long (I have ~ 220 GB files in my 300 GB hard drive)? Are there programs that can speed up the backup ?

Any information will be appreciated. And if this is NOT the right place to post this question, please let me know where I could post it or find the answer. Great many thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 wpgwpg

wpgwpg

• Members
  • 1,149 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:57 PM

Posted 05 June 2014 - 08:08 PM