Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Open and Save File dialog Box issue

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 aaarrrggghhh!

aaarrrggghhh!

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:45 AM

Posted 04 June 2014 - 06:02 AM

hello all, newbie here being driven to distraction by a fault that has manifested itself with the Open/save/Common dialog box.

In all programs I use - Chrome/IE11 and OpenOffice. when I wish to open or save a file the dialog box is does the following:

opens BUT without "save as file type" OR without the Explorer Tree. It seems to open a random storage file within C. The lack of either the file tree or the file type/location field makes it impossible to speficy where to save the file to. In 'open' it makes it impossible to find the file for emailing and because it opens random folders saving the file into that file is not an option.

any ideas? As a business and work tool without this function working the laptop is essentially useless.

System Info:

Dell Alienware M18xR2

Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 Bit w service Pack 1

6GB RAM

500GB Hard Drive

2 x GeForce GTX NVIDA cards

antivirus - Avast Pro

CC Registry Cleaner

SpeedupMyPC

IE11

Chrome

Open Office

Steam

All registry files have been cleaned and the laptop is virus free.