Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Small Business Anti-Virus/Malware and Content Filtering Firewall solution

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 rods

rods

• Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:14 AM

Posted 30 May 2014 - 02:47 PM

Hello,

I'm an IT consultant for several small to medium-sized business.  I've mostly use Avast and Malwarebytes for my Anti-virus and Malware protection.  For the small offices it's easy to manage, but for bigger offices, keeping track of anti-virus expiration dates is ridiculous (since it will be different based on when they get a new computer) and this week it was proven that I can't rely on the staff to let me know when a registration is expiring.  One of the computers was infected with CryptoLocker because he ignored the 30-day daily reminders of Avast expiring.  Fortunately, I was able to minimize the data lost to 4 hours to 12 hours by using Shadow Copies and the previous nights backup for the database applications that got encrypted.  Please note, they also host their own exchange server (SBS 2011/Exchange 2010 or SBS 2008/Exchange 2007)