Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Restoring Files from a recovered Hard Drive

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 thebetterman88

thebetterman88

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:35 PM

Posted 28 May 2014 - 09:04 AM

Hi,

I'm fairly new to working on computers and such but I have a question for anybody who has recovered data off a hard drive. I had an Asus laptop running windows 7 that crashed on a windows update. I couldn't boot into anything, and encountered a black screen. I ended up buying a SATA to usb adapter and transferring all the files off the hard drive and doing a clean install of windows. Now that I have the files back, I have no idea what to do with them. Its 18gbs organized into 3 groups, DATA, OS, and RECOVERY. I went through the files on all of them and I only recognized a few things under OSS were in program files. I can't find any documents or pictures I had on the desktop or anything really. Everything else is a confusing mess of system programs it appears. What am I missing here? Do I need to redownload the programs I used to have and transfer the data or what?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,406 posts
  •  

Posted 28 May 2014 - 09:12 AM

What software did you use to transfer the files...and to what did you transfer them?