Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Thinking of building my first PC; video editing, $800 budget. Suggestions?

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Finlay

Dave Finlay

• Members
  • 148 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:52 PM

Posted 14 May 2014 - 08:07 PM

Hello all,

I'm an aspiring documentary filmmaker who's getting more and more into post-production by the day. I primarily edit via Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 (formerly Sony Vegas Pro 10), but play around with FCP7 whenever I get the chance.

For starters, this is the PC I'm currently working with:

HP TouchSmart HQ504 (circa 2008)
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2
Intel Mobile Core 2 Duo T5750 @ 2Ghz
4GB Dual-Channel DDR2-333 RAM
Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family (lol integrated graphics)

Needless to say (but I'll say it anyways), this PC is an all-in-one sack of crap for video editing, and I'm dying to get a new one. Its CPU is consistently running at 65-70+ degrees, and with no idea of how to cool it down I'm worried that the PC might croak if I do any more heavy editing on it.