Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Compaq Presario Died. Why?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 johnpennington

johnpennington

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:09 PM

Posted 09 May 2014 - 12:14 PM

I have a Compaq Presario Desktop PC that I've been using for about 8 years now. I haven't felt the need to buy a new computer because I have a newer laptop. I'm a novice with computer hardware so please speak in basic enough terms for me to understand.

I have a compaq presario desktop pc that has died. For over a month, the computer has been making a very loud and worrysome humming noise. The other day, I guess the computer finally went? I'm not sure, because when I booted up the computer, the power light on the power button didn't light up and nothing came up on the screen. Though, I heard fans running rather loudly inside the computer.

I took out the power supply unit and administered the green wire test. After putting the paperclip into the green and black wires, I plugged the power cable back in and the fan was spinning. So I know that the power supply unit isn't dead. Could the power supply still be the issue? Could it be the motherboard?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 zingo156

zingo156

• BC Advisor
  • 3,333 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:09 PM

Posted 09 May 2014 - 12:19 PM