Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Lost in the Partitions!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 NeilCH

NeilCH

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:09 PM

Posted 07 May 2014 - 06:45 AM

I'm a reall noob and have been strugglign with my first build for weeks now. it's been having lots of problems so I'm going back to the beginning and doing a clean install. There was problems installing the first time round onto my SSD. Everything was new when i first bought it but now it has had windows installed on it a few times and I want to wipe it and start from scratch. I have other drives for media and such this SSD is just for OS and prigrams and so I want to have a pertiotion for the OS and the rest on the remaining part of the drive but this seemingly simple task is proving more difficult than anything else I've had to do and keeps running into problems. Now when I go to install the SSD has 4 partitions: 1  Recovery 300MB, 2 system 99MB, 3 MSR (reserved) 128MB, 4 Primary 223.1GB.

Should I just format Partition 4 and install, is there meant to be all these partitions?