Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Programming Anti-malware Software

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Elendil

Elendil

• Members
  • 660 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:15 PM

Posted 21 May 2006 - 08:01 PM

What programming language would be the most powerful and efficient in creating an anti-malware program? I have basic knowledge of VB 6, but VB.net is out so I feel slapped. C++ is the most common no?
Stanford '14
B.S. Candidate | Computer Science

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Alan-LB

Alan-LB

• Members
  • 71 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:15 PM

Posted 22 May 2006 - 01:58 AM

"Malware" means everything bad that comes over the net. That is a very broad range of software including Viruses, Trojans, Worms, rediallers, Spyware, keyloggers and so on.

I would suspect that you would need more than one program to cover everything. So what "malware" do you have in mind? Why would you bother since there is a lot of very comprehensive and effective software already available? Such software has taken teams of programmers years to develop - what do you hope to achieve?