Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Very desperate, can't remove highly sophisticated rootkit.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sentience

sentience

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:09 PM

Posted 26 April 2014 - 03:30 AM

I am not a security expert, so anything I say below might not be 100% correct or accurate. I just want to apologize in advance should I end up badly abusing terminology.

I have detached nearly every component in my rig, all USB devices, unnecessary SATA devices, flashed my BIOS, reset CMOS, wrote zeros to my drives, etc. It will just not go away no matter what I do. I am currently writing this from a Parted Magic liveCD with no hard drive attached to the computer.

I'm getting increasingly more desperate as I earn a living as a graphic designer and I have no viable way to make income while this thing continues to ruthlessly infect my systems.

It all started when I noticed Windows acting strangely a couple weeks ago. These include various small issues like:

1. Laggy screen redraw/paint speed with no applications running and classic mode set to "high performance" despite having a very powerful computer and two GTX580's in SLI.
2. Strange events showing up in the event log - large amounts of CAPI2 and cryptography related functions failing and throwing errors