Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mac>PC network attempt.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 NeilCH

NeilCH

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:01 PM

Posted 24 April 2014 - 08:55 AM

Hi, I'm quite new to this.I'd never even used a Windows PC till two week's ago and it's been at times a very frustrating and painfull prossess with nothing but the manuals and the internet to work it all out. So there has been lots of doing things over. But now I have built my new PC and it's up and running with all the software, all the storage configured and all my backups set. The last part I have left till now becaused the internet and IP's and such is the most confusing to me. But all my files are on my mac and though I knew they are not very compatible I thought that they shared a format, FAT32. However on trying to start moving my files I find that FAT32 can not move large files. So suddenly I am very stuck  with over a TB of stuff to shift and now way to do it. I tried third party programs for my PC to read my external mac drive but non of them seemed to work.

Now I have fallen on the solution of connecting my mac and PC with a Ethernet cable and sharing over a network. This seems like a really good and fast way of doing it. I have read many descriptions and watched many videos and they all pretty much give the same set of instructions.