Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cant get Gateway lt41p05u to boot off of USB to reload OS after HDD failure

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Aj01701

Aj01701

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:21 AM

Posted 16 April 2014 - 10:19 PM

Hi my name is Arron and im an IT technician who is rather stumped at the moment, im currently trying to help a friend with his Gateway LT41P05u windows 8 machine. The HDD failed after a hard fall while it was running. Ive replaced it with a new HDD of the same size, 320gb. Every attempt to image the original HDD onto another has failed and the original OS is thus far unrecoverable. Even tried the HDD in the freezer trick. No luck. With that being said my friend wasnt much for windows 8 anyways and has purchased a copy of windows 7 to reload the machine with. Here is where im getting stuck....