Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Do It Yourselfers Will Relate To This.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,690 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:11 PM

Posted 19 May 2006 - 01:38 AM

Being an electrician I need a vehicle that will hold a lot of tools, so I have a 1977 one ton Chevy van, which carries the half ton or so of tools and materials in style.

I will have to smog this puppy next month, so I decided that since I hadn't changed the spark plugs in about three years that it would probably be a good idea to do this before I have it smogged. I immediatelly remembered why I hadn't done this sooner, it took the better portion of three hours to do! eek

The normal 5/8" spark plug socket is too short to reach the spark plug because of the smog lines attached to the outside of the exhaust manifold, and my shortest extension which is 1" makes it too long to fit in between the frame and the engine. But once you get the plug out, the fun has just started, the space that you have to work in on six out of the eight plugs is too small to get your hand in, and half of them you have to feel your way around to get the plug started because you can't see them. Half of the plugs have to be accessed from inside the van, and the remaining half have to be reached from the wheel wells.