Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Please Help Me!!!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Carl5872

Carl5872

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:03 AM

Posted 09 April 2014 - 08:49 AM

I have very little experience and knowledge about computers.  This is my first post on this forum, so I am sorry if it is in the wrong place.  

I noticed a while ago that my Alienware Laptop was starting up slower than my work laptop (a Dell Lattitude E6500).  I figured that this shouldn't be because the Alienware is supposed to be more powerful.  After a google search, I found your website showing me how to look through startup processes to uncheck what I don't really want running automatically each time the computer starts.

While going down the list I saw "SStorageAutoStart" with an unknown manufacturer listed.  I tried searching all over google/bing and this website to see what this is and if I should keep or remove it, but couldnt find it.  

Would anyone be able to tell me to keep or disable "SStorageAutoStart"?  Thank you.

Carl

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Sirawit

Sirawit

Bleepin' Brony

• Malware Response Team
  • 4,161 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:03 PM

Posted 09 April 2014 - 09:11 AM

Hi Cari5872 and welcome to BleepingComputer! :)

So, "Startup item" tab is "SStorageAutoStart" and "Manufacture" is "Unknown" right?