Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What realy needs to run at start up

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 busygal

busygal

• Members
  • 65 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:00 PM

Posted 08 April 2014 - 06:25 AM

I am wondering what realy needs to run at start up. i did a msconfig and messed things up so now i am running my windows 7 on seletive start up but i realy have no idea of the programs in there can you help me out.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dicke

dicke

Paraclete

• Members
  • 2,189 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:00 PM

Posted 08 April 2014 - 07:59 AM

Hi,

Exactly what you need will depend on what you do. I run 'selective' as well. I have installed several programs which I use from time to time. They do not need to start every time I turn on the computer. So, they are disabled until I need them.

Look at each line in Startup and determine if it's something you need. If it is leave it enabled. If you aren't sure, ask. One of us will have a suggestion / opinion / recommendation. It will still remain your choice.

Keep us posted

Stay well and surf safe [stay protected]

Dick E

#3 Anshad Edavana

Anshad Edavana

• BC Advisor
  • 2,805 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:30 AM

Posted 08 April 2014 - 08:52 AM

Hi