Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 8 Shows Black Screen After Login

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 StoneRanger

StoneRanger

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:40 PM

Posted 06 April 2014 - 01:16 PM

Hi BleepingComputer, long time reader, first time caller.

This is my first time troubleshooting a Windows 8 machine. I have a Lenovo G500 here with Windows 8. After I log into Windows, the screen goes black with only a movable white cursor.

Fortunately, I can Ctrl+Alt+Del and pull up Task Manager from here. I can open up Windows Explorer, Internet Explorer, etc.. With an Ethernet cable, I can access the Internet. However, I cannot get the desktop or Windows taskbar running.

From a half hour of Googling, the only real solution I've seen is to uninstall the graphics driver through Safe Mode. I removed the Intel® HD Graphics 4000 driver and only the Microsoft Basic Display Adapter remains. Nothing came from that.

Anyone have a solution, or other troubleshooting steps I could go through, for this? This is not my machine, so I couldn't tell you what could have been installed to cause this.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 StoneRanger

StoneRanger
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  

Posted 06 April 2014 - 01:42 PM