Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hi i got a problem with AVG safe search

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 balsaplayer

balsaplayer

• Members
  • 181 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 25 March 2014 - 07:51 AM

Hi i have been using AVG free for about 2 years now but over the last 4 weeks i think since the last update  i keep getting the AVG Nation search engine  when i open a new tab in firefox ver 27.0.1 i did what it said on AVG help and support  and uninstalled using control panel  also in control panel is AVG pc tune up but when i try to uninstall i get an error message saying missing file so AVG safe search/Nation is no longer showing in control panel but when i open a new tab after closing and restarting firefox i still get the AVG nation search page  and if i search  the address does not show in the navigation bar  it just says search. so i used the special program AVG says on thier support page to remove  avg nation  but still it is on firfox all that program did was wipe out my chrome browser so i had to reinstall chrome. i searched  looking for an answer  to this problem and found awdcleaner so i used that and it found AVG nation  so i cleaned but still avg naqtion is on firefox but if i go into tools/options on firefox and press HELP a new firfox start page opens and if i open a new tab  on that no avg nation but