Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading RAM on my computer

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 seppy50

seppy50

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:02 PM

Posted 21 March 2014 - 03:49 PM

Hey this is my first time posting a forum topic and I hope I am in the right section.

My computer is a HP Pavilion Media Center m8120n with the video card of NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 SE and an upgraded voltage supply of 1200 V I believe.  The tower has also been upgraded with more fans (probably pointless to mention).

Through the years I have used my computer I was told that I was not able to upgrade my system's RAM through various technicians such as ones from A-Power and NCIX.  However, I cam across the site Crucial.com and through their scan I was told that it supports 8GB.  This was shocking and I am very excited to get more RAM because during games I use 97% of my 3GB RAM and 67% on just Windows 7 itself.  So my first question is, is Crucial right about upgrading my hardware?  Keep in mind I want to purchase up to 8GB RAM and paying 150$ for a computer I will replace in a few years doesn't seem worth it.