Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ubuntu Installed. What Programs recommended?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 skargas

skargas

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:57 PM

Posted 18 March 2014 - 07:45 AM

Hi,

I am a Newbie in Linux. i just installed Ubuntu 12 and it is working well. I obtained the Download instructions from Bleeping Computer and they were excellent!

Do you have recommendations as to what antivirus and antimalware programs to install? Also, what online support options are available?  I have heard of Geek Buddy.  Others out there?  HP does not help with Linux programs.   Thank you!   

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 myrti

myrti

Sillyberry

• Malware Study Hall Admin
  • 33,679 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:57 PM

Posted 18 March 2014 - 08:05 AM

Hi skargas,

you do not really need any antivirus or antimalware programs on your linux PC as there are, for now, no viruses or malware in the wild. If you wish to install some, I would recommend you take a look at the Ubuntu Software Center. You can also take a look at the online version of the Software center here: https://apps.ubuntu.com/cat/applications/precise/software-center/
There is an open source anti virus program called Clam AV, but several other companies like Avast and Avira