Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Better career path?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 HighDrama

HighDrama

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:57 PM

Posted 07 March 2014 - 09:12 PM

Hello everyone. I wanted to ask for some advice on what career path is better. I'm currently a Sr Helpdesk tech. I've been offered 2 positions. One is for a Helpdesk Supervisor or I have an offer to be a Systems Administrator. Ideally I would like to have a leadership position as I progress through my career but I also fear being pigeon hold to helpdesk. In our company, the helpdesk doesn't really have a lot of access. Our access is limited to AD as account operators. Any issues we can't solve client side/locally, we escalate to the systems or network teams. 

I'm torn here. I would love to remain in a leadership role as a helpdesk supervisor and even maybe a helpdesk manager at some point but I also feel that my career in IT would be better benefited by being a System Admin and really learning all the backend stuff that I currently have no visibility to right now. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by HighDrama, 07 March 2014 - 09:12 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 easyrider2

easyrider2

• Members
  • 85 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:57 AM

Posted 22 March 2014 - 11:55 AM

Hi HighDrama,

it all depends ;)