Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Wipe computer, set up partitions properly

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 teatrap

teatrap

• Members
  • 121 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:46 AM

Posted 03 March 2014 - 08:32 AM

I've never done this before, so it'd be good to get some guidance on it... This is part practical part learning. My partitions aren't set up as well as they could be, and I'd like to learn this for future reference. Thing is I'm unsure of the steps I have to take, I don't want to create a paper weight.... 

I'm going to list what I think has to be done. If anyone could add to / subtract from or guide me to any thing I should probably read up on / guidance that'd be much appreciated!

1 Disk image current set up - just so that I have everything backed up. I guess I can use Macrium Reflect / Windows built in image system for this.
2 Create a USB Boot drive. I think there's a way to do this within Windows. 
3 WinPE disc / Linux disc? I've heard of these - I don't use Linux (I think one of the disc types is referred to as Linux though) 
4 Check the image has worked correctly. Check the USB Boot drive. 
5 Wipe laptop?