Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help with new 8 port switch

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 chaostoday

chaostoday

• Members
  • 107 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:23 PM

Posted 01 March 2014 - 12:11 AM

I am not a computer expert but manage to get by fairly easy.
When it comes to networking I'm a little behind the times.
My home is wired and wireless. I have runs of Cat 5e in every room but don't use most of them. I'm mainly using wireless N. I use the wired to network my home theater, Blu ray, game systems etc.
I want to purchase a new 8 port switch and was wondering if I should do the gigabit for the future. Will it work now with my existing home network? Are there benefits today?
I currently have 5Mbps cable and I'm upgrading to 10Mbps in March.
I was just wondering what the difference would be between my standard Netgear GS108 and one of the new gigabit units.

Thanks for all your help.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 smax013

smax013

• BC Advisor
  • 2,329 posts
  •  

Posted 01 March 2014 - 12:47 AM

My home is wired and wireless. I have runs of Cat 5e in every room but don't use most of them. I'm mainly using wireless N. I use the wired to network my home theater, Blu ray, game systems etc.