Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Reader cannot open (Windows 8)

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 saluqi

saluqi

• Members
  • 574 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:03 AM

Posted 20 February 2014 - 01:14 PM

I have a fair number of PDF files, mostly downloaded job-related information about water resources etc. (I am a water district manager).  When I try to open one of these files from the documents listing in File Explorer, I get a message saying "This app can't open.  Reader can't open while File Explorer is running with Administrator privileges. Restart File Explorer normally and try again."

WTF?  Does that mean I have to set up a separate non-Admin account to read PDF files?  What is "normally" here?

At present I have only one account on this computer, of which for the time being I am the only user.  Ours is a very small agency (5 employees, only one of whom (my secretary) is likely to need to use this laptop occasionally.  She will need access to the same documents I use, so probably no need for a separate account.

Enlightenment?

Thanks!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 chrisd87

chrisd87

• Members
  • 811 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:03 AM

Posted 20 February 2014 - 03:28 PM