Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista PC will not re-boot after restart

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 dsteeley

dsteeley

• Members
  • 43 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:05 AM

Posted 18 February 2014 - 03:14 PM

Hi, I am an enthusiastic amateur with computers.  A friend has asked me to help her with a Packard Bell Vista PC that she has as it had not been used since her late husband passed away a couple of years ago.  A few weeks ago through Windows update I installed SP2 and IE 9.  This went ok but took a long time as it is extremely slow.  I thought this was because it only had only 1gb of ram so  I ordered 2gb of ram from Crucial and went round to fit it yesterday.  She said she had been using the PC the previous day but had been unable to turn it off so left it running all night.  It looked like she had accidentally locked her account but there was a button to ‘Shut down and install updates’, which I guess were Windows updates.  I shut it down but it would not re-boot normally and went into a start-up repair.  Eventually it asked if we wanted to repair using restore,  we did and eventually it restored ok but took ages.  I wanted to check it was ok before I added the new ram so clicked on ‘restart’ again and as it shutdown it installed another 7 updates but again would only re-boot as last time from start-up repair > restore.