Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is my computer getting old/Do i have hardware issues?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Ddng1143

Ddng1143

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:23 PM

Posted 17 February 2014 - 05:28 PM

Hi BP community,

I have been using my laptop for almost 3 years now and recently I have been experiencing 3-4 minute boots on my PC. I was wondering whether my computer is getting old and if these are first signs indicating that it may start to die soon. Is this related to my hardware?

Here are some specs: 

Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core i7 2670QM @ 2.20GHz 60 °C
Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
RAM
6.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
Hewlett-Packard 1802 (CPU1) 62 °C
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1600x900@60Hz)
Intel HD Graphics Family (HP)
Storage
596GB Hitachi HTS547564A9E384 (SATA) 47 °C
Optical Drives
hp DVDRAM GT50N
Audio
IDT High Definition Audio CODEC

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,727 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:23 PM

Posted 17 February 2014 - 06:14 PM

I would be more inclined to look at increasing boot times...as an indication that I've increased the number of items that initiate at boot.  I would use a startup manager to review those items, either disabling or removing any that are non-essential.