Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

hardware or OS problem??!!!!

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 JuanBernardo

JuanBernardo

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:43 AM

Posted 13 February 2014 - 12:28 PM

Hi, I'm having this problem since a while ago and I'm trying to trace the origin of it. I'm a 3d-compositing artist and use several related aplications, among them Maya, Mari, Nuke, Hiero, Mudbox, etc.This problem only happens when I'm using Mari (by The Foundry), which is the most resource intense piece of software I run. I used to run Mari previously with my outdated system with no problems appart of the expected ones; I mean, I use a dual Xeon QuadCore workstation which used to have 8 GB RAM and a Quadro FX 1700 GPU and the system crashed when trying to go beyond its capabilities. Then I updated my system, I installed a Quadro K4000 GPU, now I have 16GB RAM, added a new 500GB 10000rpm hd. I installed Windows7 on that HD, and Centos 6 on the other fast disk (a 150GB 10000rpm one), I put the windows disk on top of the booting sequence and modified the loader usin EasyBCD, to being able to chose OS (I think maybe this is the problem, but cannot be sure). Everething goes alright, not a single crash ever, but when I use Mari. Mari is intended for painting very high resolution textures, using the whole power of the GPU and wri