Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Installed Ubuntu on ASUS EeePC - Any tweaks to run faster?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Cecilia421

Cecilia421

• Members
  • 114 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:05 AM

Posted 13 February 2014 - 08:44 AM

Hi, all,

I'm totally new to Ubuntu. I had an EeePC netbook that was running WinXP and installing Ubuntu seemed like a good way to repurpose netbook and give me a platform to play with Ubuntu so that I can learn it. Everything installed fine and it's running well, but really slowly. I'm not overly surprised by that, since the netbook has a grand total of 1GB of RAM and is running an Intel Atom CPU. My question is, is there anything I can do to get Ubuntu to run faster? Or do you have a suggestion for a more stripped-down opensource OS that I could install instead that would run faster? I basically want to be able to run LibreOffice or OpenOffice, check email/Facebook, maybe play some light games (Solitaire?). Nothing real fancy.

I'm basically a diehard Windows user (don't judge me!) but I want to learn some other OS's as well.

Thanks!

"Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards."
- Soren Kierkegaard

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 NickAu

NickAu

Bleepin' Fish Doctor

• 13,700 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:05 PM

Posted 13 February 2014 - 09:45 PM