Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need advice about in-home PC repair and support

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jvdlcr125

jvdlcr125

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:34 AM

Posted 05 February 2014 - 02:13 PM

As a short back-story, I have a few years of professional experience in both customer service, PC + Mac repair and tech support (end users, no business). I'm currently in the process of starting an in-home tech support business and I was hoping to gather some insight about the following:

• How do you manage appointments?
  • What software and hardware do you use on-site?
  • How do you manage time while performing stand-by tasks on-site (ie. waiting for a program to install, transferring data)?
  • Which services are billed at flat rates vs hourly?
  • What is your trip charge?
  • Do clients pay at time of service or are they billed prior to the services completion?
  • What is some advice on maintaining a working relationship with your clients after the service and creating repeat customers?
  • What are your hourly rates?
  • Would setting up a service contract with monthly billing be a good option for increasing revenue?
  • Should an anti-virus or cloud backup be bundled with a service contract? (to add to customer value)
  • Are there any additional tips or tricks that may be useful to know?