Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Tried to change home folder name - lost ability to access files


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 professorchaos

professorchaos

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:06:36 PM

Posted 04 February 2014 - 11:24 AM

I was trying to change to the name of the home folder on a work computer to reflect a personnel change, by logging in as root and renaming the folder. Instead of the intended result, I found a new account created with the new folder name, but the home folder for this account still has the old name. The files from this folder now occupy a folder with the new folder name, but which has no account attached to it, so that I can only access the files from the root account. Is there any way to restore the old account's files and settings so that I can access them as before? Or should I just copy the old home folder over to the new account?



BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Buddyme2

Buddyme2

  • Members
  • 712 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:02:36 PM

Posted 04 February 2014 - 04:08 PM

Recover from renaming your Home folder



#3 professorchaos

professorchaos
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 128 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:06:36 PM

Posted 07 February 2014 - 10:00 AM

Thanks for the link - unfortunately I can't follow step 2 in the article's advice since I can't revert the folder to its old name because now there is a new folder with the same name. Is it advisable to simply skip this step and move the old library folder to the new account?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users