Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Could be infected but not sure

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 AmyM247

AmyM247

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:25 PM

Posted 28 January 2014 - 01:08 PM

Hi everyone, this is my first post here but this forum has helped me clean many infections in the past so thanks! Here is my problem today. I work as a subcontractor for a small web design company maintaining websites. Updated a client site yesterday with some YouTube links, today we get an S.O.S. from them saying google is giving a "your site may have been hacked" message. No idea how long that may have been the case, prior to yesterday I hadn't worked on the site in months.

So I immediately updated my MBAM and started a scan. It looked funny because the scan started in the wrong partition of my hard drive and started showing non-existent gibberish file names made of all symbols. Also, after about ten minutes my computer would produce the blue screen of death and have to be restarted. I'm now in safe mode doing a full scan and after 2 hours it's found nothing.

I am on a Thinkpad T420 running Windows 7 enterprise.

One of the clients scanned her Mac with Sophos and found bredozp-d, phish-a, and pdfjs-xw. I'm not familiar with Sophos, and can only find reference to these infections in their forums, so...no help there?