Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Spybot Search & Destroy Teatimer


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 beakerr

beakerr

  • Members
  • 70 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:07:11 PM

Posted 10 May 2006 - 08:39 AM

Today my spybot search & destroy started giving this message: Spybot - Search & Destroy has detected an important registry entry that has been changed Category : Session Manager, Change Value deleted, Entry : BootExecute, Allow Change Deny Change ?

I selected deny change but it keeps popping up. Why is spybot freaking out on me?

I am using an emachine T3256, Windows XP sp2, running IE 6, avast antivirus

Edited by jgweed, 11 May 2006 - 09:47 AM.


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 quietman7

quietman7

    Bleepin' Janitor


  • Global Moderator
  • 52,092 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Local time:06:11 PM

Posted 11 May 2006 - 07:17 AM

With Spybot's TeaTimer whenever there is a registry change to the system it pops up a notification to allow or deny. If you selected deny change but keep getting the alert, see here.

There is no way to keep those pop-up notifications from being issued if an actual registry change is made. However, you may be able to eliminate many of the pop-ups if you are getting at lot of them at system startup.

TeaTimer takes snapshots of Registry entries and compares these with the Registry at startup. Until these snapshots are updated you are likely to get pop-ups (primarily at startup) of changes you made in the past. In other words, TeaTimer attempts to return the Registry to the state it was in when the snapshot was taken. To refresh TeaTimer's snapshot files:

Right click Spybot's TeaTimer System Tray Icon > click Exit Spybot-S&D Resident.
TeaTimer closes.
TeaTimer's snapshot files are refreshed at this time.

Restart TeaTimer:
Using Windows Explorer, navigate to C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy.
Double click TeaTimer.exe to start it.


.
.
Windows Insider MVP 2017-2018
Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2016
Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2007-2015 kO7xOZh.gif
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

If I have been helpful & you'd like to consider a donation, click 38WxTfO.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users