Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Black Screen and Cursor after 8.1 Update

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 SquaretekTech

SquaretekTech

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:28 AM

Posted 24 January 2014 - 12:32 PM

Hey, all.  I'm an IT Technician for a repair store, and I have stumbled across something absolutely frustrating.  I'm sure that this has already been discussed, but I must know a few more things.  I had a customer come in and request that we upgrade his Dell laptop (I will give the specs below) to Windows 8.  That was all very well and good, and the install went off without a hitch.  But a day later, the customer came back and said "put 8.1 on it."  I, for one, and a H8tr.  I absolutely despise Windows 8, 8.1, etc.  But, being as the customer is always right, I obliged.  After all of the Win8 updates were finished, it finally asked "do you want to upgrade to 8.1 for FREE?"  I clicked yes, ok, continue, whatever, and installed 8.1.  But alas, it was all in vain.  Now, when I log the customer in, it only gives me this hateful black screen and cursor.   I have done everything the entire interwebs has recommended, and then some.  It hasn't changed a bit.  I updated drivers, (tried to) refresh the pc, rollbacked the drivers, uninstalled the video drivers altogether, everything short of a fresh install.  So please help