Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Want to change career path and get into IT. Need advice on how to start.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Negotron

Negotron

• Members
  • 98 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:37 PM

Posted 22 January 2014 - 05:39 PM

Hi, I'm currently a Corrections officer coming up on my first year next week. Long story short since I turned 19 I was employed by the local sheriff's department and I've been trying to become a Police officer, six years later after a lot of work I instead ended up in the local county jail. It's not my dream job but don't get me wrong I can do my job and really well but I don't see myself doing this 20+ years when the highest I can get paid is when I reach 17 years at 50k yearly which it's ridiculous, my cousin its in the IT field as a help desk technician I believe and he makes 45k starting I'm at 31k.