Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

HDD where did all my space go.

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 MikEH20

MikEH20

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:25 AM

Posted 18 January 2014 - 06:07 AM

hello every one im new to this fourm and would like to say hi to every one first this fourm looks pretty friendly and helpfull so i thought i would post a few question i have here.. but one at a time :) i would also like to apoligize for my spelling its not my strong point i looked for a checker but could not see anything.

my question is i built a custom computer almost 2 years ago and my one internal hard drive is a 1TB and its telling me that i have about 70gig left on it but when i highlight all the files and folders on that drive and click properties to see there tottal space used is only like 50 gig this harddrive is not the c dirve and does not have any os on it no hidden folders.. is my only option to format it?

thanks for any help :)

Edited by MikEH20, 18 January 2014 - 06:30 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Platypus

Platypus

• 14,001 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:25 PM

Posted 18 January 2014 - 06:29 AM

If the drive you're quoting these figures for is not the C: drive, then how much storage space it offers will depend on how large it was partitioned to be.