Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Printer Problems

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 carolhall1

carolhall1

• Members
  • 29 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:45 AM

Posted 16 January 2014 - 02:35 PM

I have been using an HP Laser Jet 1020 for several years with no problems. All at once, it stopped working about a week ago. I can no longer print any documents, emails, etc. I can, however, print a Test Page from Windows Control Panel (Devices & Printers, Printer Properties, General Tab). Does this indicate the printer is connected properly and my problem is with the computer software? The Windows Troubleshooter could not find a problem. I also attempted to delete files in the Print Spooler, but it was empty. I did Stop and Restart the Spooler anyway. Any suggestions?

Edited by hamluis, 16 January 2014 - 03:04 PM.
Moved from Win 7 to External Hardware - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 chrisd87

chrisd87

• Members
  • 811 posts
  •  

Posted 16 January 2014 - 02:42 PM

If you can print a test page from devices and printers, then the printer is installed correctly. Try opening up a blank notepad in Windows, type some garbage into it and see if you can print it out. If it prints successfully, then I would suggest it's in the software which may need to be reinstalled.