Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

[sudo] trouble?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 altonius

altonius

• Members
  • 57 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:27 AM

Posted 15 January 2014 - 12:27 AM

Hi guys,

I'm really new to this linux thing--yesterday--honest! Anyway, I replaced XP with Ubuntu 13.10 on an old Acer netbook. I set it up and got rid of things I won't ever use, and downloaded some stuff that I will. Nothing weird. I also switched browsers, Firefox to Chrome.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 altonius

altonius
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 57 posts
  •  

Posted 15 January 2014 - 12:33 AM

OK, had a little problem there. So, when I try to run a command from the terminal, for example, Sudo shutdown -r > enter, I am asked for my password which I then try to input. The computer will not let me type. It's as if the keyboard is turned off. Any ideas what's going on? 

#3 pane-free

pane-free

• Members
  • 117 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:27 AM

Posted 15 January 2014 - 04:15 AM

OP said, "I set it up and got rid of things I won't ever use"

What was deleted?  How was it removed?  It is common for new users to have to reinstall (I did so myself many times when new to Linux) because of an unwitting mistake in removing files.  Do not be afraid of it, just accept it as a rite of passage.