Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

W7 Won't Boot, System Repair + Restore Do Nothing

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 TheJBizz

TheJBizz

• Members
  • 33 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:11 AM

Posted 05 January 2014 - 04:01 PM

Hello!

This is my first time doing computer assembly. I'm running on a new motherboard (GIGABYTE GA-970-D3P), GPU (AMD Radeon HD 7870), RAM (Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB 1600), and power supply (Corsair GS700), with my hard drives containing Windows 7 (1 SSD, one HDD) being moved over from my last computer.

When I boot the comp up, it goes to BIOS and then starts loading Windows, but then immediately says that Windows cannot be loaded, giving the options to repair the system or boot normally. Booting normally loops me back to that menu, and attempting repair ends up with the OS saying that it can't do it, restarting itself and bringing me back through the loop. Doing a system restore to an earlier point also ends up doing the same.

The BIOS seems to be at its latest update. I imagine it's the mobo drivers, but I don't know how I could install drivers if the OS won't even boot up.

This is my first time handling stuff like this, so I don't know what information is relevant. I'll try to provide whatever you guys need to know.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Problem_Solver

Problem_Solver

• Members
  • 17 posts