Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

System tools backend.

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 bwrighttwo

bwrighttwo

• Members
  • 717 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:20 PM

Posted 24 December 2013 - 10:55 PM

I am a Linux newbie.  I have had some problems with unexplained devices and several other things that return after a format and re-install. I am referring to machines that had originally been running Win 7 64bit SP1.  I recently ran Mint 15 using Mate after a complete format. After some time I realized I was getting updates for Gnome and KDE. I then found "System tools backend"  I am pretty sure this is what the culprit used to compromise my machines. I now need to know why it lives through a format and re-install.  Thanks for your time.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 stiltskin

stiltskin

• Members
  • 238 posts
  •  

Posted 25 December 2013 - 08:54 AM

They're part of Gnome.

System Tools to manage computer configuration -- scripts

The System Tools Backends are a set of cross-platform scripts
for Linux and other Unix systems. The backends provide a standard
XML interface for modifying the configuration regardless of the
distribution that's being used.

These backends are used in GNOME System Tools.

They didn't "live through" anything. They were installed as part of Gnome.

#3 bwrighttwo

bwrighttwo
  • Topic Starter

• Members