Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem with file encryption

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Blaziken_rjcf

Blaziken_rjcf

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:47 PM

Posted 21 December 2013 - 08:38 PM

Hello. My name is Blaziken. This is my first time posting here. I am fairly clueless regarding software, but I'm not a total idiot.

Long story short, I recently upgraded my entire computer, OS included: I went from Windows 7 to 8.1. However, I forgot to decrypt some files on my external HDD's (in fact, I forgot I had even encrypted them). As a result, I can no longer access them (obviously). Thankfully, I didn't format C: when I installed Windows 8.1, and therefore still have the .sys files in a subfolder of the "SystemCertificates" (or something like that) folder. All I need to know is how to use them, either in Windows 8.1 or 7 (my mom's computer still has 7), to (finally) decrypt my files. Some can be replaced, although it will take time, but others cannot and are very important to me.

I thank you in advance for your time.

PS: I didn't post my specs (aside from the OS) because I think it's unnecessary in this situation. If you feel otherwise, just ask and I'll post them.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Kilroy

Kilroy

• BC Advisor
  • 3,324 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:47 PM

Posted 23 December 2013 - 12:28 PM