Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Win 8.1 File History and backup help

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 kelkay

kelkay

• Members
  • 292 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:19 AM

Posted 20 December 2013 - 10:48 PM

I just got an external hard drive recently, and I'm new to back ups with one.  Previously I just saved my documents, and pictures to a flash drive.

I have heard conflicting stories on File History.  It is set to ON, and I have backed it up twice.  If I understand this right, I have to go to File History, and select system image backup.  I did that.  But I am not sure if this is replacing the previous File History back up, or making an entirely new one, each time, thus filling up my external hard drive eventually.