Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PowerShell - write to run constantly?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 teatrap

teatrap

• Members
  • 121 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:49 AM

Posted 17 December 2013 - 11:03 AM

I'm just learning some PowerShell at the moment but something that I'm curious about (though I can't actually write anything at the moment.... ) Is whether something can be written in PowerShell to constantly run. 

Say write something so that every 10 minutes a folder is backed up - or would this have to be done using the Task Manager? 

Or having something that looks at the dates of files within a folder and backs up the ones that are newer than a certain date, would that have to be run each time or would you be able to write something that would just be a background process? 

Just curious, haven't really got my head around what the main use of the program is and whether it's something that can be used to write programs that run constantly or just used to administer certain tasks manually etc.... 

Hope that makes sense. 

Operating system_Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center (9600)
CPU_Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz
Motherboard_Hewlett-Packard (1966)
RAM_12063mb
Hard Drive_931gb (HGST HTS541010A9E680)
Graphics card_Intel® HD Graphics 4600
Sound card_IDT High Definition Audio CODEC

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)