Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

xp simple file sharing security

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 amos69

amos69

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:56 AM

Posted 16 December 2013 - 07:24 PM

Hello guys I have question concerning file sharing security I am a novice user but this is my question I share an internet connection with my neighbor they have the modem and phone line I have an ethernet switcher and wireless router it was all configured by the way when I moved in. I use two desktop computers at home one in my living room and one in the bedroom both have the ethernet cord running to them from the router or switcher not sure router I believe but I watch tv online in my bedroom but I download all my shows out in the living room comp and have been copying them to a usb and then go watch them in my room isnt there a way I can watch what I downloaded to livroom comp in my bedroom I have researched the file share in xp I named my comp in livroom pc1 and bedroom pc2 both named workgroup so when I click my networkplaces I see those sorry so long but here is my question and I did read alot on this and am just more confused maybe someone has a real simple solution for me in the sharing security tab I put everyone in the groups catogory in the comp managment can my neighbors click on there mynetworkplaces and see my pc1 pc2 fol