Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

No problems... but...

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 myuser

myuser

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:21 AM

Posted 14 December 2013 - 10:31 AM

Morning,

Currently I have no malware (to my knowledge) on my Win 7 Ultimate , 64-bit desktop.  I apply all MS updates promptly. I have installed MSE and I run a daily quick scan and a weekly full scan. No threats detected. I have also downloaded and ran SOPHOS Virus Removal Tool several times - clean each time. 

I am not foolish enough to think that my pc is 100% clean (it may be). There could be something lurking about that was not detected. I have read the lengthy and helpful cleanup process posted by tech savvy members here to help others. That is wonderful to have that kind of knowledge and help available here. 

My question: Should I just continue to be proactive as I have been in applying updates and doing regular scans - and not think I have a problem until it is certain I have one?

Thoughts/comments will be appreciated.

JJ

Edited by hamluis, 14 December 2013 - 03:35 PM.
Moved from Win 7 to General Security - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DonnaB

DonnaB

Bleepin' Ailurophile

• Malware Response Instructor
  • 2,373 posts
  •  

Posted 14 December 2013 - 01:15 PM

Hi myuser,

Welcome to Bleeping Computer! :)