Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Defender Comparisions

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Elendil

Elendil

• Members
  • 660 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:43 PM

Posted 04 May 2006 - 05:33 PM

In my recent science fair that won at my county and 3rd in the state, an aspect I studied was how well four free anti-spyware programs did: Windows Defender, Spybot S&D, Ad-Aware SE, and A-Squared Anti-Malware.
Here are the results of my experiment:
A-Squared: 16 Cookies, 11 Registry, 6 Files - 68% of total amount
Ad-Aware SE: 21 Cookies, 3 Registry, 1 File - 50%
Spybot S&D: 15 Cookies, 1 Registry, 1 File - 34%
Windows Defender: 1 Registry, 1 File - 4%

All of these programs were fully updated and then brought into safe mode to do the scanning. Just thought I'd post this little FYI for people who have Windows Defender as their only anti-spyware program.
Stanford '14
B.S. Candidate | Computer Science

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:43 PM

Posted 04 May 2006 - 05:43 PM

I would be interested in understanding what these four applications were tested against as well as the methodology you employed in your experiment. From the percentage, I would guess something around 50 different instances; do you consider this an adequate sample to warrant any conclusion?
Regards,
John