Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Learning about Linux

• Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 battyhippie

battyhippie

• Members
  • 430 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:29 AM

Posted 07 December 2013 - 02:21 PM

I have looked around but cannot seem to find where I should go to begin learning about Linux from the perspective of the total beginner. At least this way, I won't be bombarding this forum with a lot of silly questions that if I had a tutorial on Linux I might find the answers myself and what I can't find the answer for, post.

Thanks! in advance, any and all comments. suggestions, and directions greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 buddy215

buddy215

• 13,323 posts
  •  

Posted 08 December 2013 - 11:21 AM

Doing a quick search for 'Ubuntu for beginners' I saw this....Ubuntu Manual - Home

a comprehensive beginners guide for the Ubuntu operating system. It is written under an open source license and is free for you to download, read, modify and share.

The manual will help you become familiar with everyday tasks such as surfing the web, listening to music and scanning documents. With an emphasis on easy to follow instructions, it is suitable for all levels of experience.