Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hoping to build a PC and wondering if I'm looking at right parts

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 patriotace

patriotace

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:41 AM

Posted 01 December 2013 - 12:33 AM

I am, as the title states, hoping to build my own PC, but I'm new to this so I'm not sure if I am looking at all of the correct parts.

I know most of the basics of PCs and what is needed for a PC (CPU (or APU), Motherboard, RAM, HDD/SSD, PSU, Graphics card, cooling, etc.) I have picked out parts, and I believe they are compatible, but not sure if they would do what I want and be the best I can get for my price range ($500-$550 sans monitor, keyboard, and mouse.)

Basically what I want the PC to do is be able to compile the occasional C, C++ program, be good for programming in HTML/Python (should be fine), do some graphics every now and again (using GIMP/Inkscape/Blender), play Minecraft, Wolfenstein:ET and maybe even CS:GO with OKish FPS. As well as being a general all around good PC.

I have read several building guides (especially by LifeHacker, love those guys) and they seem to have what I have for the most part, but I'm not sure if what I have is correct.